November 13

What School Is Like For Me

school bus by Patxi Moraleda via flicker

I start school by going to the bus stop at 7:00 AM. I get to Homeroom by 7:35 after I get off the bus. In Homeroom, we get our Chromebooks, (more information on Chromebooks), and we do an online program called Rosetta Stone. Most kids learn Spanish on it, but some continue Japanese since they did it last year in 5th grade. At 7:55, I go to my first period class, which is Math, but the subject is different for other people, just depending on what they have next. I leave Math Class at 8:44, and go to my locker to get the stuff I need for my next two classes. Then I go my second period, which is Science. I stay in Science until 9:32, and I go to my third period class, which is Social Studies. I leave social studies at 10:22, and I go to my locker again to get the stuff I need for the next two periods. For fourth period I have PBL, or Project Base Learning, and stay there until 11:11, then go to my last core class, which is English/Language Arts. At my school your homeroom is your fifth period class, so my English/Language Arts teacher is also my Homeroom teacher. At 11:55, English/Language Arts ends, and we go to lunch. We come back from lunch at about 12:25, and at 12:30, I go to our advisory class, the class time we use to work on homework. At 12:53, I go to my sixth period class, which is my first unified arts class. Sixth and seventh period will change over the school year, so we can do all our unified arts classes. At the time of making this I have Careers for sixth period, and at 1:42, I go to my seventh period which is HAVPA. If you don’t know what HAVPA is, click here. At 2:27, we take our Chromebooks back to Homeroom so they can charge for the night, and go back to seventh period until 2:35, and we go pack our backpacks and get on the bus to go back home.

Clock needle pointing in between one and twoCreative Commons License Marco Verch via Compfight

A normal year of sixth grade would have about 175 days. The school year starts out warm at the end of the summer, and then it goes into fall, winter, and spring. We have 5 class changes over the school year, but they only affect the unified arts classes. The first one was on October fourth, it changed to the second grading term. Then on November 28th, there will be the third grading term. The fourth grading term is January 31st, and the fifth is March 26th until the school year ends on May 23rd.


Posted November 13, 2017 by Parker in category Uncategorized

1 thoughts on “What School Is Like For Me

  1. AJ

    hey it is me AJ it is interesting on how you go to school were i live we are still in elementary school thank now i know what to expect

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*